Month in Review: April 2018

From watching out for the latest email scam to a recap of the #NerdOscars winners, here are our five favorite articles from April.

Spring has finally sprung in the CLE as we wind down April on MYB. Take a look at some of our favorite articles from this month.

Creating digital relationships
Before Facebook, people actually met face-to-face with their customers. We’re bringing you back to the tried and true method to grow your small business—relationship building. Check out these six easy ways to create relationships with your digital fans

“Microsoft” email scam
Are you aware of the latest email scam and do you know what to do if you are targeted? Emails appearing to come from Microsoft could potentially harm your computer and your data. Don’t be a victim. Know what to look out for and how to handle the situation.

10 networking mistakes
The self-proclaimed godfather of networking in COSE land is here to rescue you from torturous, unproductive networking experiences. Make your next networking event as effective as possible by avoiding these 10 mistakes.

2018 Best of Tech Awards
Did you miss OHTech's 2018 Best of Tech Awards this month? We're bringing you a list of the winners from the big #NerdOscars night and the reaction to the event on Twitter. 

Ins and Outs of Business Insurance
In this month’s WebEd Series, we heard from two experts in the business insurance industry. Check out highlights of this webinar tailored to small business owners, and scroll to the bottom of the article to view the full presentation. And, make sure you register for our next WebEd Series - Ask a video producer: Pro-Tips for great productions.

What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from April? Let us know on Twitter!

Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll
    Next up: Month in Review: February 2018

    Month in Review: February 2018

    A shorter month doesn’t mean less good stuff from Mind Your Business. Our staff is back at it, showcasing some of our stand-out articles in February.

    What happened in Mind Your Business this month? Here are a few of our favorite things from February!

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    Don’t just set it and forget it

    You spend a lot of time planning and creating your marketing efforts. Don’t have one-and-done content; instead, repurpose it. Rejuvenate your blogs, videos, testimonials, social posts, webinars and more! Check out these six ways to give new life to great content.

    Pre-Check

    What you need to know about firearms in the workplace

    It’s not a topic we like to think about, but with workplace violence and shootings on the rise, it’s crucial for business owners to outline firearm policies for their employees. In order to do so, employers must know the laws regarding employee possession of firearms. Take a look as we unpack these laws and detail potential scenarios that could trigger this type of violence.

    Get ready to roll out the red carpet

    Buyers have a lot of choices these days and they’re doing their research. Stand out in a crowd of mediocre customer service by giving your potential and current customers the red carpet treatment. Thanks to our WebEd Series on how to provide top-notch customer service, we’re bringing you two dozen ways to optimize your customer impact.

    How to hire

    Hiring is an exciting time for your business, but making sure all of your employment forms are in order can be decidedly less fun. Here are five must-have items to include in your staffing toolkit so that you’re prepared the next time your business is in hiring mode.

    Compete in an Amazon world

    Approaches to buying are evolving as technology advances. Selling tactics must adapt if companies are to remain relevant. As the rules of business continue to change, learn how to keep up. Take a look at two industry examples, as well as steps to take to ensure your selling process best fits the customer’s buying process.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from February? Let us know on Twitter!


    Grasshopper
    Next up: Month in Review: January 2018

    Month in Review: January 2018

    Each month, the Mind Your Business staff picks out their favorite articles from the past month. Enjoy the picks from January 2018!

    We kicked off the New Year with stories covering everything from ways to safeguard your intellectual property to reasons why you need to incorporate video into your marketing plans. Here we’ve highlighted our top five favorite articles from January.

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    Knock it out of the park with your small business

    Pre-Check

    Just like the Indians have had success against teams from bigger markets, 2018 COSE Annual Meeting attendees discovered how small businesses can compete against bigger competition. And so can you! Check out a link to the full audio and a summary of the session, featuring Indians Manager Terry Francona, Chairman and CEO Paul Dolan and legendary play-by-play announcer Tom Hamilton. 

    Don’t phone it in

    Do you come across as too casual over the phone? Are you lazy when it comes to communicating with current or prospective customers? Give your image a facelift by implementing these five super easy tips on improved phone communication.

    Lessen anxiety by increasing preparation 

    Emergency action plans may not be anyone’s favorite topic, but they are extremely necessary and helpful to preparing your workforce should an emergency arise. From establishing a preferred method of communication to posting evacuation routes throughout the premises, check out these nine expert safety tips that you can implement in your business.

    Big recognition, little money

    We all surely know by now that millennials are the key to the future for our businesses. And we also know this younger group of workers appreciates recognition for a job well done. But how can companies provide this positive feedback without breaking the bank?

    Steer clear of employee immigration issues

    Valuable employees with in-demand skills can be found in the U.S. and abroad. But when it comes to hiring outside of the country, there is a lot you need to know. Tracking Visa expiration dates and diligently completing the I-9 form are just two of the ways to reduce headaches with immigration laws concerning current or prospective employees. Before finding yourself in a hiring predicament or spending time on an ineligible candidate, be sure to review our other eight tips.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from January? Let us know on Twitter!

    Grasshopper
    Next up: Month in Review: March 2018

    Month in Review: March 2018

    From perfecting your sales pitch to protecting against data disasters, we’re bringing you some of our favorite Mind Your Business stories from March.

    Mind Your Business was stacked with stories in March. Here are some of the articles that stood out to us this month.

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    A minute to win it

    Pre-Check

    Here's how to make a 60-second sales pitch that will catch the interest of everyone walking by your next trade show booth. And after you read up on these tips, mark your calendar for Nov. 1 when you can put them in action at our very own BizConCLE.

    Don't get hooked by a phishing scam

    As part of a special series with the Federal Trade Commission highlighting small business scams, here are 13 ways to keep hackers at bay and your network safe. Did you miss Part 1 of the series? Get caught up here on what you need to know about office supply scams.

    Employment contract provisions in detail

    From descriptive provisions such as scope of employment and probationary period, to protective provisions such as non-competition and work for hire, we are laying out the 13 essential employment contract provisions that you need to familiarize yourself with before making your next hiring move.

    ‘Alexa, make people click on this article.’

    Are you leveraging voice search for your small business yet? Consumer research isn’t just about typing into Google anymore. Find out more about voice search devices and how you can take advantage of this new area of the marketing world.

    Is your site HTTPS secure?

    Customers want to make sure they are visiting, buying from and entering information into a site that is as secure as possible. Enter HTTPS security. Learn the importance of HTTPS and how you can implement it on your small business website today.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from March? Let us know on Twitter!


    Grasshopper
    Next up: NEOSA Sales and Marketing Seminar - Selling to the CFO

    NEOSA Sales and Marketing Seminar - Selling to the CFO

    NEOSA hosted executives from Cisco, Stratavant and Shark Finesse who shared their expertise in how to best position a technology company and its solutions to CFOs.

    NEOSA hosted executives from Cisco, Stratavant and Shark Finesse who shared their expertise in how to best position a technology company and its solutions to CFOs.

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll
    Pre-Check
    Next up: NEOSA Seminar Selling to the CIO without being DOA Part 1

    NEOSA Seminar Selling to the CIO without being DOA Part 1

    Selling to the CIO level in an organization can be agreat tactic, but how do you ensure you're approaching them the best way? Our panel of CIO's share their insight...

    Selling to the CIO level in an organization can be agreat tactic, but how do you ensure you're approaching them the best way? Our panel of CIO's share their insight...

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll
    Pre-Check