Month in Review: July 2019

If you have been on summer break from the blog, check out this recap of some of the stand-out articles from July.

You may have been in vacation-mode this summer, but we are business as usual on the blog. Check out some of our favorite Mind Your Business articles from July.

Building the Matrix: Who’s Responsible for Your Company’s Decisions?

You can follow the law, carefully think through your options and consult with others. But even proceeding with extreme caution won't guarantee the outcome you're hoping for with every decision that's made for your company. Learn how the matrix of authority can help

The Importance of GCP’s PAC

From the state budget to infrastructure to the environment, there are many crucial public policy issues in Ohio today. As the political landscape continually evolves it is more important than ever for our business members to have a seat at the table. Learn more about GCP's political action committee.

Can Businesses Avoid Minimum Wage Requirements by Bartering Services?

In an effort to boost their bottom line, small businesses often barter services with independent contractors. If you're considering bartering as an option, follow these legal guidelines and tips to ensuring your business is protected.

How to Handle HR Situations Without Having an HR Department

You wear many hats as a small business owner. And, if you don't have a formal human resources department, HR director might be one of them. Follow these three steps to help address HR issues on your own.

3 Things to Know: Vacationing as a Small Business Owner

Whether you hit the beach, climb mountains or simply enjoy a stay-cation, it's important to give yourself a break--even if you run your own business. But before you put up your 'gone fishing' sign, read these three things to know about vacationing as a small business owner.

What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from July? Let us know on Twitter!


Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: June 2019

    Month in Review: June 2019

    From how to improve where your business appears in Google search results, to whether or not your emails are missing their mark, June was a hot month on the blog.


    It’s finally summer in Cleveland and we’re heating things up on Mind Your Business. Check out some of our favorite articles from June.

    Making Relationships Work

    Before you enter into a new business relationship, it's imperative you really know your new partner. Here is the basic information you need to know, and the proof you need to see, in order to ensure your partnerships work for you.

    Online Marketing: Lessons From a Google Leader

    From recipes that call for apples to a place to go ziplining, you can find it all on Google. But, how easy is it to find your business? Follow these tips to help improve where you appear in search results.

    Do Your Emails Suck?

    Yeah, we said it—your emails just might suck. If you’re sending long attachments, using all caps, sounding too formal, or committing any of these 15 worst email practices, you’re probably missing the mark with your emails.

    Will Changes to Canadian Trademark Laws Impact Your Business?

    If you conduct business or are a trademark owner in Canada, it's imperative that you are familiar with changes on the horizon for Canadian trademark laws, specifically with registration and fees.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from June? Let us know on Twitter!


    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: November 2019

    Month in Review: November 2019

    This month we are thankful for our writers, our readers, and all of the great info we’ve been able to share through the Mind Your Business blog. These are some of our favorite articles from November.

    Grateful, thankful and appreciative are just a few of the words that come to mind when we think about our Mind Your Business contributors and readers during this time of year. We have been fortunate to work with so many inspiring small business owners to provide such impactful content to our readers. Here is a recap of a few of the standout articles from this month.

    Connecting With Holiday Shoppers: 10 Takeaways
    'Tis the season for holiday shopping. Is your small business positioned to receive its share of the nearly $1 trillion predicted for holiday spending in 2019? Check out these 10 takeaways from COSE's Small Business Resource Fair workshop on connecting with holiday shoppers (hint: the first takeaway is that there's still time, but you have to hurry so read now!).

    13 Tips for Successfully Onboarding New Employees
    You wouldn't just throw your new employees into the job without proper training and guidance during their first days in the office. But how effective is your onboarding process? Follow these 13 tips to help your new hires succeed long-term with your small business.

    5 Reasons to Invest in SEO
    If your business is not ranking high in online search results, then your website really isn’t working for you. You may not realize the importance of search engine optimization, but here are five reasons why SEO matters and how to go about making that investment.

    Setting the Foundation for Marketing Success by Getting Back to the Basics
    Whether you are a business owner wading through the sea of marketing tools or the lone marketer in an organization trying to keep up, there are some tried and true tactics to set the foundation for marketing success. Make sure you have these three basic approaches covered.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from November? Let us know on Twitter!https://twitter.com/cosesmallbiz

     
    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: October 2019

    Month in Review: October 2019

    From the tricks and treats of running a small business to member spotlights in honor of National Women’s Small Business Month, October was a busy month for Mind Your Business. Here’s a recap.

     

    Choosing which blog posts to include in this month’s review was not an easy task. But here’s a rundown of some of our favorites from October.

    Tricks AND Treats of Running a Small Business

    Learning from your fellow small business owners isn't just a bunch of hocus pocus. In honor of the spookiest season of them all, our COSE members shared some special Halloween tricks AND treats when it comes to running a small business

    National Women’s Small Business Month

    Did you know that October was National Women’s Small Business Month? COSE is fortunate to have many inspiring women entrepreneurs within our membership. We had the opportunity to chat with Monika Moss-Gransberry, founder of MKM Management Consulting, and Cheryl Perez, BIG-HR president and CEO, to learn more about their careers and passions. Check out their thoughts on valuable ways to recognize female-run businesses, and some proud moments they have experienced along their professional journeys.

    10 Steps to Take After Landing a New Gig

    Last month we brought you strategies for handling those times when your business is not selected to fill a prospect's needs. So here's the natural follow-up—what to do when you are the best choice. Hint: It's more than just saying thank you and starting the job—follow these 10 steps when you've landed a new project or client.

    Dealing with Small Business Owner Fatigue

    Running a business is a big honor, but it’s also a big undertaking. Follow these six suggestions to stay motivated and keep everything running smoothly even during times of stress and fatigue.

    Webinar Recap: How to Implement Your Medical Marijuana Policy Without a Full Time HR Team

     

    In light of the medical marijuana laws in the state of Ohio, it's imperative that your business is up-to-date when it comes to its drug policies and procedures. Learn the five steps you should take to make sure your business is protected and running smoothly, even in the absence of an HR team.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from October? Let us know on Twitter!


    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: September 2019

    Month in Review: September 2019

    Our Mind Your Business writers provided a lot of valuable business advice this month. Read on to see what you might have missed from our experts in September.

     

    Our Mind Your Business experts are proud to bring you regular guidance on various aspects of running a business—here’s a roundup of what was explored in September. And, be sure to scroll to the bottom for your chance to learn from and talk with other small business owners in COSE’s peer-to-peer program.

    What if Your Business Isn’t the Right Choice?

    There may be times when you can’t be as fast or as good or as inexpensive as the prospective client requests. You can't win 'em all, of course. In the September edition in our series answering sales-related questions, we presented five options to consider when your business isn't the most obvious choice for a prospective project.

    And, after you finish reading what to do when you are not the best choice, take a look at the follow-up article on next steps to take when you are the best choice.

    Why Employee Motivation Matters More in a Small Business

    Understanding what employees want and ensuring they are happy and productive goes a long way to retaining them, and is invaluable to your business. Here are some ways you can make your workers good, long-term employees.

    Why Should I Care About the Department of Labor’s Employee Benefits Security Administration?

    You might have wondered this very thing. It's a good question--and if your small business offers a retirement plan, healthcare or other benefits, read on for the answer

    Join COSE's Peer-to-Peer Program

    Are you looking for a peer group or “forum” for sharing highs and lows as a small business owner--with the ability to discuss business and personal issues outside of the office? Would you like to bounce your ideas, strategies, and approach off another entrepreneur?

    Please consider joining COSE’s Peer-to-Peer pilot program, which will bring COSE members together to form small groups to do just that. Peer-to-Peer groups will be led and facilitated by COSE Board Members Tim Opsitnick, Alex Gertsburg, and Taylor Evans. All content and topics discussed will be created by the group itself. All we ask is that you show up, share, and commit. Discussion will be confidential. 

     

    Interested? Please email Jason Guyer and we’ll reach out with information as we get closer to launch.

     

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from September? Let us know on Twitter!


    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Be Heard: National Regulatory Fairness Hearing

    Be Heard: National Regulatory Fairness Hearing

    The Small Business Administration’s National Ombudsman Office is a resource for entrepreneurs, trade associations, nonprofits and small government entities who are facing unfair enforcement actions, excessive penalties, fines and other regulatory issues with federal agencies. The Regulatory Fairness Board is strictly non-partisan and it aims to:

    -Resolve regulatory disputes with federal agencies
    -Reduce unfair penalties and fines
    -Seek remedies when regulations are inconsistently applied

    The Regulatory Fairness Board is seeking your input via an upcoming public hearing where small businesses can amplify their concerns.  Organizations or small business owners wishing to be allotted time to testify must submit written testimony in advance to ombudsman@sba.gov no later than Monday, August 5, 2019.

    A Greater Cleveland Partnership volunteer leader, Keith Ashmus, serves as a representative on the Regulatory Fairness Board for Region V, which covers Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota.

    Share
  • Email