Month in Review: July 2018

From under-the-radar business challenges to a venti-sized brand identity dilemma, check out these must-read MYB articles from July.

It’s always hard to choose but we are bringing you five of our favorite Mind Your Business articles from July. Which ones stand out to you?

Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    What You Need to Know About Employee Screenings

    The hiring process can be a daunting task and finding the perfect fit for your team requires more than relying on a resume or a quick search on social media. Here are five tips to help you effectively conduct background screenings.

    Develop the Leader Inside You

    Are you an effective leader? Here are five hard questions to ask of yourself to determine what level of influence you have on those around you

    Don’t be the Next Unicorn Frappuccino

    Establishing strong brand awareness is important, and it’s crucial you aren’t infringing upon another brand’s identity. Take a look at these tips to make sure you aren’t the next Unicorn Frappuccino—read on to see what we mean.

    The Top 5 Reasons to Attend BizConCLE 2018

    From the new easy-to-get-to location at the I-X Center or the series of 10 educational workshops taking place throughout the day, here are the top five reasons why you should attend BizConCLE on Nov. 1.

    Under-the-Radar Business Challenges

    In our series spotlighting COSE’s Investor Level members, we sat down with Michael Canty from Alloy Bellows & Precision Welding. Hear what he had to say about the business challenges nobody is talking about and how he works to overcome them.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from July? Let us know on Twitter!

    Pre-Check
    Next up: Month in Review: June 2018

    Month in Review: June 2018

    From saving your company money on energy to learning tips from the pros on video production, we are highlighting some of the great pieces on the blog from June.

    Summer is in full swing and Mind Your Business was hot in June. Check out some of our favorite articles from this month.

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    How to hire Gen Z

    The tricks and tactics you’ve implemented to attract and keep other generations on your team might not be as effective when it comes to Generation Z. Find out what you need to know in order to hire this new generation of workers.

    COSE’s Energy Team can save you money

    The administration at Christian Community School in Grafton recently engaged COSE/GCP’s Energy Team to perform an audit of the organization’s facility (a $5,400 value, paid for by FirstEnergy and an exclusive benefit to COSE/GCP members). You won’t believe the results (and the savings!).

    Strategies for handling suspected workplace misconduct

    In one of our hottest articles this month, we laid out specific guidelines for handling workplace misconduct. Be prepared and know how to keep the peace if this type of situation presents itself in your business.

    Video production tips from the pros

    COSE’s recent WebEd Series Webinar featured tips on creating professional-looking videos. In case you missed it, we’re recapping the webinar and you can even catch the full presentation. It’s more than just sound bites—check out these great tips from a local pro!

    Keeping your social professional

    Facebook, Twitter and other social platforms may be immediate and informal ways to communicate with constituents, but you should still be professional when representing your business. Learn how respect, patience and curiosity are all elements of ensuring your ‘social’ is still professional.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from June? Let us know on Twitter!

    Pre-Check
    Next up: Month in Review: March 2018

    Month in Review: March 2018

    From perfecting your sales pitch to protecting against data disasters, we’re bringing you some of our favorite Mind Your Business stories from March.

    Mind Your Business was stacked with stories in March. Here are some of the articles that stood out to us this month.

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    A minute to win it

    Here's how to make a 60-second sales pitch that will catch the interest of everyone walking by your next trade show booth. And after you read up on these tips, mark your calendar for Nov. 1 when you can put them in action at our very own BizConCLE.

    Don't get hooked by a phishing scam

    As part of a special series with the Federal Trade Commission highlighting small business scams, here are 13 ways to keep hackers at bay and your network safe. Did you miss Part 1 of the series? Get caught up here on what you need to know about office supply scams.

    Employment contract provisions in detail

    From descriptive provisions such as scope of employment and probationary period, to protective provisions such as non-competition and work for hire, we are laying out the 13 essential employment contract provisions that you need to familiarize yourself with before making your next hiring move.

    ‘Alexa, make people click on this article.’

    Are you leveraging voice search for your small business yet? Consumer research isn’t just about typing into Google anymore. Find out more about voice search devices and how you can take advantage of this new area of the marketing world.

    Is your site HTTPS secure?

    Customers want to make sure they are visiting, buying from and entering information into a site that is as secure as possible. Enter HTTPS security. Learn the importance of HTTPS and how you can implement it on your small business website today.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from March? Let us know on Twitter!


    Pre-Check
    Next up: Month in Review: May 2018

    Month in Review: May 2018

    From what you need to know about medical marijuana in Ohio to how to go about balancing leisure and liability when it comes to company social events, we are recapping four of our favorite Mind Your Business stories from May.

    May was an informative month on Mind Your Business, with tips provided on several issues related to running a small business. Check out the highlights from this month.

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    BWC’s new workplace wellness program

    The Ohio Bureau of Workers’ Compensation has a new workplace wellness program, Better You Better Ohio. If you missed the COSE webinar on this innovative approach to a healthier work environment, we have you covered. Check out the highlights and scroll to the bottom of the article for access to the full presentation.

    •          RELATED: Check out our calendar of upcoming COSE events.

    Medical marijuana timeline update

    By Sept. 8, 2018, a functional medical marijuana program will be implemented in Ohio. Will you be prepared for the impact that might have on your business? Here are eight things small business owners should keep in mind.

    What to do after you’re hacked

    You might think it will never happen to you, but you should know what to do in case it does. We are highlighting the three steps you should take immediately if your business finds itself the target of a data hack.

    •          RELATED: Wondering if an email is OK to open? Here are nine warning signs.

    The legalities of hosting company social events

    Work parties can help foster relationships, boost morale and increase retention. But there’s also the concern of liability in these less-formal functions. Before you start planning, read these tips on how to stay on the right side of the law when it comes to mixing business with pleasure.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from May? Let us know on Twitter!


    Pre-Check
    Next up: Month in Review: November 2018

    Month in Review: November 2018

    From putting the building blocks of a content marketing strategy in place to dealing with workplace threats, we are recapping some of our favorite stories on the blog in November.

    We are always thankful for our Mind Your Business contributors, but this month we are especially grateful for their commitment. Here are some of our favorite stories that hit the blog in November.

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    Business Growth Boot Camp recap

    During a recent COSE Business Growth Boot Camp, BoxCast VP of Marketing Sam Brenner laid out the blueprint of how his company leveraged its content marketing strategy to grow its business.

    New cyberthreat facing businesses

    Hackers are changing their tactics these days to invade companies. Cybersecurity expert John Carlin cast a spotlight on these new and more sophisticated approaches during the recent BusinessTECH 2018 conference. Check out the recap of this keynote address.

    Are your one-on-ones working?

    Management-staff one-on-one meetings are probably a regular occurrence at your company. But how effective are they and does anyone actually enjoy them? Learn how to make one-on-ones work for you.

    Dealing with workplace threats

    Last month we took a look at 36 warning signs of potential workplace violence. This month we took a deep dive into how to go about handling those situations and next steps to take if you do see a warning sign with one of your employees. Help keep your company safe by following these tips.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from November? Let us know on Twitter!

    Pre-Check
    Next up: Month in Review: October 2018

    Month in Review: October 2018

    From cashing in your rebate checks to an easy way to improve your professional appearance, a variety of topics were covered on Mind Your Business in October.

    Falling leaves, pumpkin spice and Mind Your Business. Take a look at the following selection of subjects discussed on the blog so far this fall.

    Share
  • Email
  • Compass Payroll

    Megan Kim to lead COSE

    The Greater Cleveland Partnership has named Megan Kim as the executive director of its small business program, the Council of Smaller Enterprises. Click here to learn more about Megan.

    Cash in your BWC rebate checks

    More than 5,500 Ohio employers are sitting on $10.8 million in uncashed checks, according to the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation. These checks were distributed this summer as part of a $1.5-billion rebate. If you received one of these rebate checks but haven’t gotten around to cashing it, you better hurry—they have a 90-day life and began expiring Oct. 3.

    Mediate, arbitrate, litigate?

    Should you negotiate means for Alternative Dispute Resolution into your next business contract? Take a deeper look into ADR clauses, including the objectives and benefits to mediation, and when to avoid it.

    Are you listening?

    Our collective listening skills have taken a hit lately, thanks to all the modern, technological distractions that surround us. Turn on your listening ears (and easily improve your professional appearance) by following these steps.

    Chairman’s Forum recap

    There are nine critical issues impacting Northeast Ohio businesses today. Check out a recap of these big issues as discussed at the latest edition of the GCP Chairman’s Forum, featuring GCP Chairman Scott Chaikin and GCP CEO Joe Roman.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from October? Let us know on Twitter!


    Pre-Check