Month in Review: June 2021

 

Things are heating up on the blog this summer as we explore topics such as future-proofing your website and providing five-star customer service. Check out our favorite articles from June.

What is Appropriate Small Talk at Events?

The weather, local sports teams, and now COVID... these are all topics awkwardly thrown into small talk when attending networking events. We all hate it, so why do we do it?
 
In this installment of FAQs with Phil, our resident communications expert Phil Stella discusses how to change that repetitive small talk into effective Big Talk, and achieve big results.

Good Customer Service is Key to Small Business Success

Behind every great business is an excellent customer service team. And with superior customer service, comes customer loyalty—something every business owner strives to achieve.
 
Learn how to provide the five-star customer service treatment with these five easy steps.

Future-Proof Your Website with these Seven Easy Tips
 
Changes in technology are about as frequent as changes in Cleveland weather. And you don't want to have to completely re-imagine your website every time a new technology emerges.
 
From focusing on evergreen content to investing in SEO, here are seven tips to future-proofing your website.

Start Delegating Your Way to Success Today
 
The items on your to-do list are growing. You think nobody can handle your tasks as well as you do and that explaining them to someone else takes longer than doing them yourself. So you keep at it, spreading yourself thin and wearing yourself out.
 
We're taking a deep dive into the art and science of delegation—a key to any entrepreneur's success. Learn why and how delegating is critical to your small business.

Let us know your favorite articles on twitter.




Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Key American Rescue Plan Provisions Will Help Advance GCP Priorities

    Key American Rescue Plan Provisions Will Help Advance GCP Priorities

     

    Last week, President Biden signed the American Rescue Plan Act - a $1.9 trillion economic stimulus bill. Here are some key provisions that will help advance our priorities:

     

    - Public Transit: Provides $30 billion for transit agencies who have been deeply impacted by the pandemic and forced to cut service and jobs in 2020.

     

    Our 2021-2022 Public Policy Agenda calls for revitalizing development around our existing transit hubs and funding multimodal transit that better connects residents to jobs, goods, and services. 

     

    - Broadband: Invests $7 billion in broadband so millions of public school students will receive the internet services they need for their education.

     

    We are a strong advocate for affordable, high-quality broadband in digitally divided communities, understanding that Cleveland’s unaffordable and unreliable internet service options prevent economic progress. Our long-term success hinges on a strong partnership with local governments, the state of Ohio, federal partners and the private sector. 

     

    - Small Business Support: Provides $15 billion in additional relief for the nation’s small businesses and hard-hit industries through increased funding for Targeted EIDL grants; $25 billion in funding for a new dedicated grant relief program for restaurants; $7 billion for expanded PPP assistance for nonprofits and digital news services; and $1 billion in Save Our Stages grants for independent live venues, independent movie theaters and cultural institutions.

     

    Our agenda lays out our federal priorities to build wealth for minority entrepreneurs and small businesses but doing so will mean addressing disparities in lending. 

    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: May 2021

    Month in Review: May 2021

     

    Mind Your Business was full of great information last month to help you grow your business.  From employee retention challenges to strategic planning—and a compilation of business resource recommendations from COSE members—check out our favorite articles from May. 

    What Ohio Business Owners Need to Know About Anti-Harassment & Anti-Retaliation Laws
    As a business owner, providing your employees with a safe working environment is one of your most important tasks. This includes a workplace free from unwanted sexual advances, jokes and other types of sexual harassment. It also means having an understanding of the laws created around employee-relations issues.

    Here is what you need to know about anti-harassment and anti-retaliation laws in the workplace.

    So, Do I Need a Strategic Plan? Who Cares?
    Is there anything scarier to a business owner than those two words? Strategic plan (*shudders*). 

    But a strategic plan doesn't have to be overwhelming—or scary. In fact, the end result of a strategic plan should be a more effectively-run business, less stress, and more free time.

    MYB's very own strategic planning expert can help you get there. Read on for a breakdown of the terminology and components of a strategic plan, and guidance on how it can be helpful to your business—and to you.

    Employee Retention Challenges and Solutions
    It's no secret that the key to a great business is great employees. But does your small business struggle to hire or retain top talent? 

    From recognizing your staff to opening lines of communication, here are nine suggestions to hiring and retaining excellent employees to grow your business.

    COSE Members Share Their Favorite Small Business Resources
    We asked some of our COSE members to tell us about their favorite resources they turn to while running their small businesses and growing as leaders—and we received several noteworthy submissions to share with you.

    Podcasts, books, websites, YouTube channels... and some are even written or produced by the members themselves. Check out their suggestions and add them to your to-do list!

     
    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: April 2021

    Month in Review: April 2021

     

    If you can’t believe the month of April is already in your rearview mirror, you’re not alone. But before we totally say goodbye, let’s take a look at some of our favorite articles on the blog from last month.

    Branding on a Budget: 4 Tips for Your Small Business

    When it comes to branding you may not be able to out-spend your competition, but you can always out-think them. Consider these four ways to brand your small business even with a small budget.

    Spoiler Alert: One way COSE members can market their business for free is by contributing to the Mind Your Business blog. Contact us to learn more.

    Recognizing and Handling Cyberbullying in the Workplace

    Cyberbullying should never be tolerated, but it may be hard to recognize—especially in the workplace. Learn how to identify the signs of cyberbullying and how to handle it once it is detected.

    FAQs With Phil: How Can I Improve My Elevator Pitch?

    In this new series with COSE's own Phil Stella, we take a look at some frequently asked questions from small business owners regarding how to communicate effectively and confidently.

    We kick off the series with an explanation of how to create an effective elevator pitch using the (soon-to-be-famous) SSCBH approach. So, whether it's during a zoom networking event, or in an actual elevator when life resumes in-person opportunities, learn more about improving your elevator pitch.

    Hint: It starts with changing the word "pitch" to the word "speech."

    If you have a question for Phil, email him at phil@communicate-confidently.com

    8 Highly Effective SEO Trends For Your Small Business in 2021

    It's no longer enough to just have a website—your small business needs to have an effective online presence to land in the top search results.

    From artificial intelligence and video content to image optimization and keywords and phrases... keep up with these eight search engine optimization trends that will get your business noticed in 2021.

    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: August 2021

    Month in Review: August 2021

     

    We started off August with steps to an effective SEO content strategy and ended it with a call for MYB writers. Take a look at some of our favorite content on the blog in August.

    How to Build an Effective SEO Content Strategy in 4 Steps
    If content is king, then an SEO content strategy is your ace-in-the-hole. From identifying your target audience to actually sitting down to create content, check out these four simple steps to creating an effective SEO strategy to get your small business noticed.

    What Every Small Business Needs to Know About Onboarding New Employees
    In July, we discussed the increased frequency of workforce turnover as a result of the pandemic, and how to tell if an employee might be quitting. In August, we encourage you to take a careful look at your onboarding process. Check out our tips for effective onboarding to ensure that your new hires feel at home at your small business, and to help your retention rate outshine your turnover rate.

    How to Work With a Recruiter
    Recruiters can really help your business grow and flourish—but they are not one-size-fits-all. It's important to find a recruiter who is the right fit for you and your business. This article is bursting at the seams with effective tips, questions to ask, topics to cover and more when it comes to working with a recruiter.

    Become an MYB Blog Contributor: Share Your Expertise, Promote Your Business
    The response we received from this call for writers has been amazing! We are looking forward to showcasing new writers in the months to come. But we still have room for you!

    Do you consider yourself an expert in your field? Would you like a free way to promote your business? We are looking for a few good COSE members to write for the Mind Your Business blog. Your articles will be featured on our website, in this newsletter and on social media. No blog writing experience required!
     
    Here are some of our top-performing articles from this year—this could be you! 
     
    Maintaining Culture and Connection in a Virtual World by Erin Longmoon, Zephyr Recruiting
     
    How to Set Up an Effective SEO Content Strategy in Four Steps by Nachum Langsner, LocalBizGuru
     
    How to Tell if an Employee Might be Quitting by Tim Dimoff, SACS Consulting & Investigative Services
     
    If you are interested, please contact Marie Zickefoose to find out more.

    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: March 2021

    Month in Review: March 2021

     

    With winter behind us, and warmer weather and vaccines on the horizon, we are excited to spring into April (see what we did there?). But before we do, let’s look back at some of our favorite posts on the blog from March. These articles follow the theme of the times—virtual working and recruitment—and are full of tips you can implement with your small business.

    Is it Time to Bring Back Your Workforce?
     
    Are you considering bringing your team back into the office? What will a post-COVID workplace look like? From determining who should return and how you will mitigate illness in your office, check out these guidelines for planning your return.

    3 Things to Know: One Year Into COVID
     
    It's been a full year since phrases like social distancing, "You're on mute," and Zoom happy hours have entered your daily language. Here are three things we think you should know now that we are one year into COVID and remote working.

    Maintaining Culture and Connection in a Virtual World
     
    We may be living in a virtual world, but that doesn't mean we can't still feel connected to our colleagues. Here are four tips you can implement today to maintain your company culture and connection with your team, even from a distance.

    Cleveland Internship Summit: 5 Takeaways from Virtual Recruitment Best Practices
     
    A roundtable discussion at GCP's recent Cleveland Internship Summit focused on virtual internship programs and recruitment. Participants shared tips and ideas for a successful program that you can implement in your own business. Check out these five takeaways from the session.

    What was your favorite article from March? Let us know on Twitter.

     
    Share
  • Email