Month in Review: November 2020

Check out our favorite articles from the blog in November 2020.

 

As we look back on November, we reflect on how thankful we are for our COSE members and specifically our regular Mind Your Business contributors. We couldn’t do this without you! We are also grateful that this brings us one step closer to concluding an unbelievably crazy year. Cheers to that!

Here are a few of our favorite articles on the blog from November.

3 Things to Know (Plus a Bonus): How to Support Small Businesses During the Holidays
We want to support small businesses now more than ever—and it's so important we do so. In this edition of our 3 Things to Know series, we brought you three—check that, FOUR—things to keep in mind when it comes to doing our part to help small businesses stay afloat during this trying time.

Check out our list of members and partners who were offering special deals for Small Business Saturday—many of the deals are still available!

What is a RIGHT FIT™ Employee Anyway?
Hiring can be one of the most challenging parts of owning a small business. Even when the resume and interview are stellar, sometimes that person you end up hiring doesn't have the impact you were hoping for. Find out why there can be this hiring disconnect and what you can do to find the RIGHT FIT™ Employee for your business.

How to Successfully Manage Teleworking During the Pandemic
Telecommuting is the way of the world right now, and your business is probably no exception. From beefing up security to encouraging daily updates, here are nine tips to help you effectively manage a teleworking policy with your small business team.

What was your favorite Mind Your Business article or webinar from November? Let us know on Twitter!

 
Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: October 2019

    Month in Review: October 2019

    From the tricks and treats of running a small business to member spotlights in honor of National Women’s Small Business Month, October was a busy month for Mind Your Business. Here’s a recap.

     

    Choosing which blog posts to include in this month’s review was not an easy task. But here’s a rundown of some of our favorites from October.

    Tricks AND Treats of Running a Small Business

    Learning from your fellow small business owners isn't just a bunch of hocus pocus. In honor of the spookiest season of them all, our COSE members shared some special Halloween tricks AND treats when it comes to running a small business

    National Women’s Small Business Month

    Did you know that October was National Women’s Small Business Month? COSE is fortunate to have many inspiring women entrepreneurs within our membership. We had the opportunity to chat with Monika Moss-Gransberry, founder of MKM Management Consulting, and Cheryl Perez, BIG-HR president and CEO, to learn more about their careers and passions. Check out their thoughts on valuable ways to recognize female-run businesses, and some proud moments they have experienced along their professional journeys.

    10 Steps to Take After Landing a New Gig

    Last month we brought you strategies for handling those times when your business is not selected to fill a prospect's needs. So here's the natural follow-up—what to do when you are the best choice. Hint: It's more than just saying thank you and starting the job—follow these 10 steps when you've landed a new project or client.

    Dealing with Small Business Owner Fatigue

    Running a business is a big honor, but it’s also a big undertaking. Follow these six suggestions to stay motivated and keep everything running smoothly even during times of stress and fatigue.

    Webinar Recap: How to Implement Your Medical Marijuana Policy Without a Full Time HR Team

     

    In light of the medical marijuana laws in the state of Ohio, it's imperative that your business is up-to-date when it comes to its drug policies and procedures. Learn the five steps you should take to make sure your business is protected and running smoothly, even in the absence of an HR team.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from October? Let us know on Twitter!


    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: September 2019

    Month in Review: September 2019

    Our Mind Your Business writers provided a lot of valuable business advice this month. Read on to see what you might have missed from our experts in September.

     

    Our Mind Your Business experts are proud to bring you regular guidance on various aspects of running a business—here’s a roundup of what was explored in September. And, be sure to scroll to the bottom for your chance to learn from and talk with other small business owners in COSE’s peer-to-peer program.

    What if Your Business Isn’t the Right Choice?

    There may be times when you can’t be as fast or as good or as inexpensive as the prospective client requests. You can't win 'em all, of course. In the September edition in our series answering sales-related questions, we presented five options to consider when your business isn't the most obvious choice for a prospective project.

    And, after you finish reading what to do when you are not the best choice, take a look at the follow-up article on next steps to take when you are the best choice.

    Why Employee Motivation Matters More in a Small Business

    Understanding what employees want and ensuring they are happy and productive goes a long way to retaining them, and is invaluable to your business. Here are some ways you can make your workers good, long-term employees.

    Why Should I Care About the Department of Labor’s Employee Benefits Security Administration?

    You might have wondered this very thing. It's a good question--and if your small business offers a retirement plan, healthcare or other benefits, read on for the answer

    Join COSE's Peer-to-Peer Program

    Are you looking for a peer group or “forum” for sharing highs and lows as a small business owner--with the ability to discuss business and personal issues outside of the office? Would you like to bounce your ideas, strategies, and approach off another entrepreneur?

    Please consider joining COSE’s Peer-to-Peer pilot program, which will bring COSE members together to form small groups to do just that. Peer-to-Peer groups will be led and facilitated by COSE Board Members Tim Opsitnick, Alex Gertsburg, and Taylor Evans. All content and topics discussed will be created by the group itself. All we ask is that you show up, share, and commit. Discussion will be confidential. 

     

    Interested? Please email Jason Guyer and we’ll reach out with information as we get closer to launch.

     

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from September? Let us know on Twitter!


    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Month in Review: September 2020

    Month in Review: September 2020

     

    From powerful content marketing tactics to dealing with COVID stress, check out some of the stand-out articles from the blog in September. 

    How Ya Doin'? A COVID Check-in
    If you haven't already done so, it's time to check in with your constituents, including your staff, colleagues and clients, about how they are doing during this time of crisis. Doing so can have a big impact on your constituents and your business. Here are tips to follow when it comes to approaching these COVID check-ins.

    3 Powerful Types of Content Marketing Effective in 2020
    Content marketing has been a trendy concept recently and can be a powerful addition to any marketing plan. But exactly why should you consider making the investment in content marketing and how do you go about using it effectively? Read on to find out.

    Six Tips to Dealing with COVID Stress
    As a small business owner, it probably feels a little overwhelming dealing with the stress coming at you as a result of the pandemic. Here are six tips you can follow to take care of yourself and stay healthy during these uncertain times.

    3 Things to Know: Continuing to Support Small Businesses During COVID
    We are several months into the pandemic and while people are becoming more mobile, many businesses—especially small businesses—are still struggling. Help support and promote your favorite local businesses and small business owners with these three steps.

    What was your favorite Mind Your Business article from September? Let us know on Twitter!

     
    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: Be Heard: National Regulatory Fairness Hearing

    Be Heard: National Regulatory Fairness Hearing

    The Small Business Administration’s National Ombudsman Office is a resource for entrepreneurs, trade associations, nonprofits and small government entities who are facing unfair enforcement actions, excessive penalties, fines and other regulatory issues with federal agencies. The Regulatory Fairness Board is strictly non-partisan and it aims to:

    -Resolve regulatory disputes with federal agencies
    -Reduce unfair penalties and fines
    -Seek remedies when regulations are inconsistently applied

    The Regulatory Fairness Board is seeking your input via an upcoming public hearing where small businesses can amplify their concerns.  Organizations or small business owners wishing to be allotted time to testify must submit written testimony in advance to ombudsman@sba.gov no later than Monday, August 5, 2019.

    A Greater Cleveland Partnership volunteer leader, Keith Ashmus, serves as a representative on the Regulatory Fairness Board for Region V, which covers Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota.

    Share
  • Email
  • Next up: National Women's Small Business Month Spotlight: Monika Moss-Gransberry

    National Women's Small Business Month Spotlight: Monika Moss-Gransberry

     

    October is National Women’s Small Business Month. COSE is fortunate to have so many inspiring women entrepreneurs within our membership. Today we are highlighting Monika Moss-Gransberry, founder of MKM Management Consulting.

    MYB: What are some ways you would suggest people celebrate National Women’s Small Business Month and recognize women who run their own businesses?

    Monika: The best thing you can do to honor a woman business owner is to patronize her business and make referrals. It is so important to support women-owned businesses. Women still make about 79 cents to the dollar compared to white men—and it is about 56 cents for women of color.

    Women’s Business Ownership Act of 1988 sought to address barriers for women and women of color to business ownership. For instance, until 1988 women could not get a business loan at a bank without a male family member cosigning on their behalf, even if that male was the woman’s son. Last year, the National Association of Women Business Owners celebrated its contribution to the formation of the Women’s Business Ownership Act of 1988 as part of the 30-year anniversary. I started my business in 1987 and bootstrapped all the start-up costs. As an unmarried woman at the time, I would not have been able to get a business loan without a male cosigner. At the time, I didn’t even consider applying as I assumed I couldn’t afford it. That was the limited thinking that I had, along with so many other women. Today, the playing field may not be level, but young women are bolder and more confident in going for their dreams. I am proud to be supporting several amazing young women entrepreneurs through my coaching practice.

    MYB: What are some accomplishments you are proud of from your journey as a small business owner?

    Monika: I have been in business for over 30 years. I have some client projects that I am really proud of.  There was a period of time when we were doing a lot of community strategic planning that was very participatory. We’d have 100+ residents, grandmothers, young people, business owners, community organizations and more sitting in the same room at the same table, talking about the issues in the community, learning each other’s perspectives, and envisioning the future of their community. Those projects were very rewarding.

    Most recently, it has been the community we have been building around our work with Life Mapping and my new book. The Technology of Doing Creating & Being: Engineering the Transformation of Your Life Using Self-Mastery as the Spiritual Blueprint launched in October as a #1 Best Seller on Amazon and makes me proud of the contribution I am making to the world.

     

    MKM Management Consulting is about transformation of organizations and the individuals who run them. Helping them to manifest their vision. They help organizations make their vision real through strategic planning, meeting facilitation and leadership coaching. They work with amazing entrepreneurs, governmental agencies, and nonprofit organizations map out their vision and strategy. Through its Life Mapping Community, MKM Management Consulting is creating a supportive environment for like-minded people to progress on their self-mastery journey and transform their lives with the company’s books, courses, live events, and private online groups. www.monikakmoss.comwww.mossgransberry.com.

     

    Share
  • Email